Malaysia Property News is a free resource website sharing Daily Property News & information about Property in Malaysia, which related to, Property Market, Property Investment, Commercial Property , Hot Properties Malaysia, Real Estate, Retail Shop, Business Park, Condominium Malaysia, Terraces & Apartment Malaysia, Houses, Residence, Resort and many more.

Monday, October 12, 2009

Commuters want exact locations of new stations

It has been almost a month since Syarikat Prasarana Negara Bhd revealed its preferred alignments for the proposed extension to the Kelana Jaya and Ampang LRT lines.

Since then, there have been numerous calls by residents and stakeholders requesting that the exact locations of the stations be identified.

Having a clear idea of where these stations are located would help people provide feedback, comments and suggestions to the proposed lines as well as prevent any confusion in future that might hamper the project.

Several locations have been proposed and it is believed that the most of the stations will be within a 500m radius of these locations with some exceptions.

The Kelana Jaya line starts from the Kelana Jaya station, passing through Subang Jaya and USJ, before ending at Putra Heights, covering 17km, with 13 new stations.

There are two stations in Petaling Jaya, while Subang Jaya has seven stations located along Jalan Jengka and Persiaran Kewajipan and three stations in Putra Heights.

The line will have five stations with multi-storey park-and-ride facilities.

The Ampang line, which spans 17.7km, starts at the Sri Petaling station and passes through the Kinrara and Puchong industrial zones before ending at Putra Heights.

It has 13 stations, with six multi-storey carpark and park-and-ride facilities, including Putra Heights. Two stations are located in Kuala Lumpur, while 10 stations are in Puchong.

The 35km of lines, which are estimated to cost about RM7bil, will be elevated and are expected to be ready by 2012.

For those wanting to make comments and objections, note that the display hours are from Monday to Friday from 9am to 5pm. It is closed on Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays.

Views should be in writing and submitted to the Department of Railways director-general’s office before Dec 14.

For details call 03-2278 1222 or visit

By The Star

No comments: